The Millennium Series Review

The Millennium series has been an amazing journey for me. This series includes the books The Girl With The Dragon TattooThe Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. I started The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo a year ago and I’d complete the final in the trilogy today. This book has actually gone beyond my expectations. This series follows Mikael Blomkvist, a reporter, who in the first book his reputation is diminished when he gets a chance to redeem himself after being hired by wealthy Henrik Vanger to write a book and solve the murder 40-year-old of his niece. He attempts to accomplish this task with the help of Lisbeth Salander, who is ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’. This whole series goes way beyond what happens in the first book.


The first book was a bit difficult to get into, mainly because this book is different from the books I normally read. It’s also a complex series that always surprised me. There is something important and interesting on every page, and there are so many characters, I had to flip back and forth sometimes to figure out who is who, which may be a bit daunting for some. This is a book to read if you need a simple book to read before bed unless you are into really intense reads.

This story is so well thought of it blew my mind.

One of the main themes in this series is the abuse of women, and how it goes unnoticed by the government, and the whole series highlights how influential individuals abuse their power. Stieg Larson presents facts about abuse against women in this book as early in the book it is established that ‘18% of the women in Sweden have at one time been threatened by a man.’ There is one scene in particular that some may find triggering. There are some critics of this book which say that it is misogynistic and too disturbing, however, in my opinion, these books are neither. Rather Larsson highlights the sadistic nature of certain events, rather than trying to romanticise in any way, and shape, therefore not saying that certain actions are right, but highlighting why these actions are wrong.

This is a series that I had to read in isolation without distractions. I started the whole series in June 2016, as part of my challenge to read 100 books in 2016. I read the final book in January 2017 and finished in July 2017, because with everything going on at university, I didn’t have the time to read something so in-depth and all encompassing. It took me a while to read the final book because I did not want the series to come to an end.

Overall, Stieg Larsson was an amazingly talented author, and I am grateful to read his work.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s