Heart-Shaped Bruise- Tanya Byrne

Heart-Shaped Bruise

Since I study criminology, I love everything crime, yet I’ve never read a book about it.I watched all the shows and some documentaries. To widen my reading horizons, I decided to Google teen fiction crime books, and not many came up. Though this book came up in my searches, so I thought okay, let me find it on Goodreads to see what it was all about.

Heart-Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne.
Heart-Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne.

The blurb goes as follows.

They say I’m evil. The police. The newspapers. The girls from school who shake their heads on the six o’clock news and say they always knew there was something not quite right about me. And everyone believes it. Including you. But you don’t know. You don’t know who I used to be.
Who I could have been.
Awaiting trial at Archway Young Offenders Institution, Emily Koll is going to tell her side of the story for the first time.
Heart-Shaped Bruise is a compulsive and moving novel about infamy, identity and how far a person might go to seek revenge.

This is really a book about the growth of friendship, romance, but mostly revenge. This book captured my attention so much, from the beginning that I could not put it down. The voice of the protagonist is portrayed so strongly by the author’s voice it feels wrong to think of it as fiction.

I loved the truthfulness of the main character, we see her story develop and the suspense builds throughout the book, we don’t fully know what she has done other than she is in a prison facility for mentally challenged teens. I don’t want to give too much away, so I will stop here.

If you are looking for a crime, young adult book, I’d read this one. Let me know your favorite crime books too!

Leave a Reply

